Skip to main content

SGMA Hall of Fame & Museum Hosts Induction Ceremony and Ribbon Cutting

By September 20, 2022September 27th, 2022News

The Southern Gospel Music (SGMA) Hall of Fame Board of Directors has announced the 2022 class of inductees.

Rodney Griffin, Arthur Rice, Kyla Rowland and Chris White will join the SGMA Hall of Fame during a special induction ceremony held at NQC on Tuesday, September 27, 2022 at 1 PM.

Full bios of each inductee can be found here.

The event will also feature tributes from artists Greater Vision, Booth Brothers, Mark Trammel Quartet, Karen Peck & New River, Kingdom Heirs, Guardians, Whisnants, Kingsmen, Jonathan Wilburn, Perrys, and Tribute.

“The 2022 SGMA Hall of Fame class of inductees is one of the most tremendous classes in recent memory,” said Clarke Beasley, SGMA Board Member and Executive Vice President of NQC. “All have made indelible marks on Southern Gospel Music.”

Earlier this year, it was announced that the SGMA Hall of Fame & Museum would be relocated to the Biblical Times Theater. A ribbon cutting will be held on Monday, September 26, 2022 at 2 PM to celebrate the opening of the new location. Biblical Times Theater is located at 2391 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863.

Arthur Rice, SGMA President, says: “We are excited and grateful to the Lord for the blessing of a new home for the SGMA Hall of Fame & Museum. The entire team at Biblical Times have been an absolute joy to work with. We believe this joint venture will not only carry the history and future of our music but the message of Christ to many. We’re so excited about what God has done for us. We’ve worked hard the past seven months to get the museum ready to open by NQC. We hope everyone will enjoy it for many years to come.”

Maurice Templeton, Founding Director of the SGMA, cuts the ribbon to open the new location of the Southern Gospel Music Hall of Fame & Museum, the Biblical Times Theater. Photo by Chip Woods for SGMA / NQC

Members of the SGMA Hall of Fame & Museum Board of Directors and Advisory Board at the gran opening and ribbon cutting of the SGMA Hall of Fame & Museum at the Biblical Times Theater in Pigeon Forge, TN. Top Row L-R: Rick Sheets, Alan Kendall, Paul Pitts, Danny Jones, Travis Bridgeman, Gary Casto, Karen Peck Gooch, Arthur Rice, Maurice Templeton, Chris White, Mark Trammell, Rick Shelton, Jonathan Wilburn. Bottom Row L-R: Jarrod Vanderslice, Richard Hyssong, Scott Godsey, Greg Bentley, and Stephen Adair. Photo by Chip Woods for SGMA / NQC